Main Content

Squadron History

Squadron History

The Magnus Composite Squadron (IL-067) is part of Illinois Wing Group 2 and Illinois Wing.  The designator IL-067 was originally assigned to the 1st Lyons Tactical Recon Squadron (circa 1989 to 1999).  With the move from Lyons Township High School in La Grange to the National Guard Armory at Midway Airport, the squadron was renamed the Midway Composite Squadron.  Later, in 2015, the squadron was renamed the Midway Cadet Squadron.  At the end of March 2017, the squadron moved to its current home in the Illinois Army National Guard Armory in North Riverside.  At that time, the squadron leadership decided to take the opportunity to associate the squadron with an aerospace luminary.  They contacted Sandra Hall Magnus, an American engineer and former NASA astronaut born in Illinois.  She graciously consented and, on April 5, 2017, the squadron was renamed the Magnus Composite Squadron.

The Cadets and Senior Members of the Magnus Composite Squadron take an active role in CAP's three Congressionally-chartered missions of Aerospace Education, Cadet Programs, and Emergency Services.  In 2016 and 2023, in recognition of the squadron meeting Cadet Programs goals that display strong program fundamentals, the squadron was awarded the Quality Cadet Unit Award.  In recognition of the squadron's work in Aerospace Education, in 2019, 2021, 2022 and 2023, the squadron was awarded the Aerospace Education Achievement Award, which recognizes squadrons that have excelled in Aerospace Education during the fiscal year.

Squadron Member of the Year Awards

Every year, the Magnus Composite Squadron recognizes their Cadet of the Year and Senior Member of the Year for exceptional contributions to the squadron and for serving as an example to other CAP members.  The list below shows the recipient’s grade at the time of the award.

Award Year

Cadet of the Year

Senior Member of the Year


C/MSgt James Miranda*

2d Lt Joshua Novak


C/1stLt Alejandro Trevino

Maj Timothy Scott


C/2dLt Alexis Vasiliadis*

1st Lt Andrew Scoulas


C/2dLt Evelyn Buck

1st Lt Raymond Walden IV


C/1stLt Evelyn Buck

2d Lt Amol Bargaje


C/SSgt William Patrick Emmons

SM Gabriel Benavides


C/2dLt William Patrick Emmons

1st Lt Ralph L. Fossier, Jr.


C/MSgt Brent Rodrigo

TSgt Alejandro Trevino


*Accepted to the US Air Force Academy (USAFA)

© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.